WipeMark vs Adobe Express background remover compared
Adobe Express routes background removal through Firefly and needs an Adobe account with daily free generations. WipeMark is free, full size, no account.
Checked against Adobe Express’s own pages on 10 October 2026. Prices and limits change; tell us if this is out of date.
The short answer
Pick WipeMark for a quick cut-out with no sign-up. Pick Adobe Express if you want it inside Adobe's design and Firefly generative suite and are fine logging in and watching a daily free-generation count.
| WipeMark | Adobe Express | |
|---|---|---|
| Free download size | Full size, up to 25 MP | Not stated on the pages we read; 4K export is listed as a Premium-only feature |
| Watermark on free result | None | Not stated |
| Account needed | No | Yes, an Adobe ID or free Adobe account |
| Free limit | No daily limit | Free daily generations that refresh each day; the exact daily number is not stated on the feature page |
| Cheapest paid plan | None, it is free | Adobe Express Premium, $9.99 a month (USD), includes 250 generative credits a month and 100 GB storage |
| What gets uploaded | A copy of at most 1024 px; nothing stored | Not stated on the pages we could read; we did not reach Adobe's generative-AI privacy terms in this pass |
| Batch / API | No / No | Not stated on the pages we read; batch appears tied to a Firefly AI Assistant for enterprise users |
| Erase objects | Yes, free at /erase-image | Yes, Remove/Insert Objects is listed as 'Free daily' on the pricing table |
| Apps | Web only | Web and mobile, inside the Adobe Express and Firefly apps |
What each tool is
Adobe Express is Adobe's lighter design app, with background and object removal now running through Adobe Firefly and requiring an account; WipeMark is a free, no-account web tool for one photo at a time. Adobe's background-remover feature page is branded around Adobe Firefly, Adobe's generative AI suite, and sits alongside templates, a Brand Kit and Adobe's other Express tools.
WipeMark has no design editor attached. It does two jobs in the browser: background removal on the home page, and erasing unwanted things from your own photos at /erase-image. There is no account and no paid tier, and it is funded by sponsor logo tiles beside the tool.
The free tier in detail
Adobe's pages describe daily free generations but do not state an exact number or free-tier resolution on the page we could read. Adobe's own text says: "Yes, you can remove backgrounds in Adobe Firefly for free with an Adobe account," and "Log in to Adobe Firefly with your Adobe ID or create a free account." The pricing table lists Remove Background and Remove/Insert Objects as "Free daily" on the Free plan, and separate copy says "Free users get free daily generations" with unlimited use requiring a paid Adobe Firefly plan. The upload limit is stated as JPEG, PNG or WebP files up to 50 MB.
WipeMark's free download is the full-size cut-out, up to 25 megapixels, as PNG, JPG or WebP, with no login and no daily counter.
Quality and edge cases
We have no documented, vendor-stated quality comparison between Adobe Firefly's background removal and WipeMark's, so we make no claim either way. Adobe markets its Remove Background and Remove/Insert Objects tools as part of the same Firefly generative suite used for its other AI features. For background on what WipeMark's model is doing under the hood, see how AI background removal works.
Privacy and uploads
We did not reach Adobe's generative-AI terms or privacy policy in this check, so we cannot state how Adobe handles uploaded images for Firefly's background and object removal. This is a gap in our research, not a claim that Adobe does or does not retain or train on your images. If this matters to you, read Adobe's Firefly FAQ and its generative AI terms directly before uploading anything sensitive.
WipeMark sends a reduced copy of your photo, at most 1024 pixels on the long side, to its server for the background step; the full-size cut-out is assembled in your browser, and the original file never leaves your device. Nothing is stored or logged. See our privacy page for details.
Where Adobe Express is better
Adobe Express is the stronger pick if you want background and object removal inside Adobe's design and generative-AI ecosystem. It offers things WipeMark does not:
- Adobe Express Premium at $9.99 a month, with 250 generative credits, 4K export and 100 GB of storage, against 5 GB on the free plan.
- Firefly Pro at $19.99 a month with 4,000 credits, for heavier generative use.
- A Teams plan at $4.99 per license a month for the first year (then $7.99), billed annually with a 2-seat minimum.
- A full design editor, templates and a Brand Kit around the removal tools.
- Mobile apps alongside the web app.
WipeMark handles one photo at a time, has no mobile app, no templates and no generative suite around it, needs a connection for the background step, and is new.
When to use which
Use WipeMark for a quick, full-size cut-out with no sign-up; use Adobe Express when background or object removal is one step inside an Adobe design you are already building. If you want a transparent PNG today and nothing else, WipeMark skips the Adobe ID and the daily-generation count entirely. If you are already in Adobe Express working on a flyer or social post and want Firefly's object removal on the same canvas, its daily free tier may cover you, and Premium removes the daily limit. See our remove.bg alternatives roundup for more options.
Free, full size, no sign-up and no watermark.
Remove a background nowHow to switch
There is no account to set up on WipeMark's side.
- Open WipeMark and drop in a JPG, PNG, WebP or HEIC photo up to 25 megapixels.
- Wait about 20 seconds for the mask.
- Use the Restore or Erase brush to fix any edge.
- Pick a transparent, white, black or custom background.
- Download as PNG for transparency, or JPG or WebP for a solid background — see transparent PNGs explained.
If something else in the photo needs removing, such as a logo or an object in the frame, use the eraser instead of spending a daily generation. See every comparison on the compare page.
Questions people ask
Is Adobe Express's background remover free?
Partly. Adobe's own pages describe free daily generations for background removal and object removal, through Adobe Firefly, with an account required. The exact daily number and the free-tier output resolution are not stated on the pages we could read.
Does Adobe Express need an account?
Yes. Adobe's pages say you can remove backgrounds for free with an Adobe account, and that you log in with an Adobe ID or create a free one to use the tool.
What is the best free alternative to Adobe Express for a cut-out with no account?
WipeMark needs no Adobe ID and no daily-generation count: you get the full-size cut-out, up to 25 megapixels, immediately. If you want the result to land inside a design you are already building in Adobe Express, Adobe's integrated tool saves that step, within its daily free limit.
Does Adobe Express remove objects, not just backgrounds?
Yes. Adobe's pricing table lists Remove Background and Remove/Insert Objects together as free daily features, both routed through Adobe Firefly.
How much does Adobe Express Premium cost?
Adobe's pricing page lists Adobe Express Premium at $9.99 a month, billed monthly with no annual commitment, including 250 generative credits a month and 100 GB of storage, compared with 5 GB on the free plan.